Well we made it, the top of locks at Bosley well as close as I can well away from the lock landing, waterpoint and the two sections of permanent moored boats, but we made it. 

After our time next to the main road, its like being in another world. The road does still follow the canal not as closely, so there is no danger of a car crashing through the tree line. With Dad sat up front and me taking the helm we set off. I wrote before about how I opened Ezri’s weed hatch a few days ago so before setting off I opened the engine bay again and pushed down on the weed hatch with my foot, it didn’t really need doing as it was fully sealed but it makes me feel better.

The one thing I have started to do is slow down, from the quarter speed we have been doing to almost one click down from stopping really. Ezri takes over more these days all do is switch on her engine and sit her in the middle of the canal. The other thing I have been is the running the bilge pump just to make sure.

So with Ezri puring away off we went, the Macclesfield has bit of habit of having broken banking so the weeds and the tree roots floating around so the best thing to do is stay in the middle which all very well but for two things boats moored on the left hand side and when you have 60foot narrowboat coming towards. 

Which happened to us as we past between bridge 51 and 52 I had to slip Ezri backwards all that really did made Ezri kind of stand still, it gave me about two inches of room at the left side by the moored boat a few more inches on the other side, so no one touch anyone I was even able to move to make more room, Its a move I don’t think I could have made if Ezri had been any bigger.

As we moved down canal the over grown grass on the towpath did make it hard to find a place to close to permanently moored boats which would wrong and to far CRT would be upset as it would be on the water point, so we did the best we could, I think next time I will have carry something to cut the grass.

As always thank you reading and see you next week. –  By the way the next two blog post are going to be moving ones both with videos 

Total Miles covered so far (Start point Bugsworth) =  30 miles 2 furlongs

Miles covered this trip =  1 miles 5 1/2 furlongs

Places been/Stopped- Bugsworth, Strines Road Narrows, Carr Swing Bridge, Bancroft Bridge No 8, Higher Poynton Winding Hole, Braddocks Bridge No. 19, Lane Head Winding Hole, Clark’ Change Bridge, Leadbeater’s Bridge No 40, Royal Oak Swing Bridge No. 49, Locketts Bridge No. 53.

Leave a Reply

