I wasn’t able to work on Ezri this week, but that doesn’t mean I going to miss a week, So I thought I would talk the canal system itself, Unlike a river or a sea as the canal moves around country is changes its name,

Some are named after the person who over saw its commissioning like the Bridgewater canal which connects Runcorn, Manchester and Leigh, but most are named after the places it passes though, the Trent and Mersey canal for example others are named after the river that feeds them.

The first few hours of my journey will begin on The Stainforth & Keadby Canal about three miles in at Blue water Marine and ends at Keadby Junction

The Stainforth & Keadby Canal links the Sheffield & South Yorkshire Navigation with the River Trent and was opened in 1802, its a rural canal so is very popular with the odd angler. The Stainforth and Keadby Canal runs in total for some 14 miles from the New Junction Canal at Bramwith Junction to the tidal River Trent at Keadby.

I will only be spending a short time on the Stainforth & Keadby Canal before I turn right on to the New Junction Canal I have counted two swing bridges and one pair of locks so it looks like it maybe an easy start. I did want to post a map picture but Google is being very unhelpful

025

Next week I should be able to do some more work on Ezri’s fit out and talk more want needs to be done

Leave a Reply

