I believe in Father Christmas

We all have that one thing, that one song, one film, that marks the start of Christmas. And you just don’t feel right until you have made happen, heard it or seen. For me that one thing is hearing I believe in father Christmas by Greg Lake with lyrics by Peter Sinfield , It came out six before I was born, And the first time hear it thought it was all about the three wise men going see the baby Jesus, then about not having snow on Christmas day which made me sad.

Lot of people have there own ideas about want even Mr Lake and Mr Sinfield can’t seem to agree  Mr Lake claims to have written the song in protest at the commercialization of Christmas. however Mr Sinfield claims that the words are about a loss of innocence & childhood belief.

For me it kind of both you don’t have all commercial rubbish people try and sell you, and so want in you lose your childhood wonder and belief about Christmas is not about that in the end.

What I feel its about is the simple act of just being together weather it at Christmas, new year or in the middle of  summer just to be people want to with and people who want be with you

They said there’ll be snow at Christmas
They said there’ll be peace on earth
But instead it just kept on raining
A veil of tears for the virgin’s birth
I remember one Christmas morning
A winters light and a distant choir
And the peal of a bell and that Christmas tree smell
And their eyes full of tinsel and fire

They sold me a dream of Christmas
They sold me a silent night
And they told me a fairy story
’till I believed in the Israelite
And I believed in father Christmas
And I looked at the sky with excited eyes
’till I woke with a yawn in the first light of dawn
And I saw him and through his disguise

I wish you a hopeful Christmas
I wish you a brave new year
All anguish pain and sadness
Leave your heart and let your road be clear
They said there’ll be snow at Christmas
They said there’ll be peace on earth
Hallelujah noel be it heaven or hell
The Christmas we get we deserve

Leave a Reply

